Deleting activities after the start of your project

PDF

This tutorial illustrates the implications of editing an existing Process Template after the project has already been started.


 

Process Templates are very powerful tools that dictate how your project is executed and managed. Before your project actually starts, the global framework can be changed by editing the process template. More local changes in your project can be made in the Deliverables page, by deleting activities from specific deliverables. Both of these are simple procedures if your project is still in the the planning phase, in other words before progress has been reported to Sablono. Once the project started on the other hand, both procedures become delicate processes that need to be well understood before executed to not loose data reported onto the system. Let’s have a look at both in more detail.

 

Deleting activities through the Deliverables page


 

Deleting activities through the Deliverables page can be compared to making them invisible or hiding them. After their deletion, you will no longer be able to see the selected activities or progress already reported to them. You will also notice that in most cases the workflow presented in the deliverables details view will skip the process-number of the deleted activity. You can always reactivate deleted activities by re-assigning the process template. That will lead to all deleted activities being shown again – including the progress which was potentially already reported for them.

As an example, activity ‘#4 Pod Connected’ will be deleted from the sequence of worked seen on the right window.

In the screen below you will notice that activity #4 is no longer visible.

If you had activated email notifications, please keep in mind that users from the responsible team from the deleted activity and its successor activity, will not receive an email notification once the previous activity is finished.

Please note, that progress reported for one activity can never be transferred to another activity. If you choose to delete activities their progress will be hidden but not lost. You can bring it back by re-assigning your process template.

 

Editing activities through the Process Template Editor


 

While activities which were deleted through the Deliverables page can be reactivated by re-assigning the template, activities which were deleted through the process template, on the other hand, will be deleted permanently from your project INCLUDING data which was already reported for them. Therefore, it is highly recommended that activities are only ever deleted from the template before progress has been reported or if you are 100% sure that they do not have a use at all any more.  After deleting activities from your Process Template and re-assigning it, you will no longer see them and their progress in the deliverables they were a part of. Creating a new activity afterwards which has the same name as a previously deleted one, will also not transfer the information from the old to the new.

Now, what can be done without loosing existing progress reported? You can always change the name or any other property of your activities. Setting up new dependencies will also not affect the progress already reported. Also, creating new activities and connecting them to your workflow will not affect your existing ones.

Working on the process after progress reports have already been uploaded, especially deleting activities from the work sequence is a delicate operation. If you have doubts, please feel free to contact us, and we will gladly help you updating your workflows.

Related Articles